2017 Agenda


8:00 AM Registration check-in
8:30 AM Welcome –

Donald MacKenzie, Master of Ceremonies and Chair, PacTrans 2017 Regional Transportation Conference

Yinhai Wang, Director, Pacific Northwest Transportation Consortium (PacTrans) & Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, University of Washington

Vikram Jandhyala, UW Vice President for Innovation Strategy, Executive Director, CoMotion

8:50 AM Keynote Addresses

Hon. Rick Larsen, Representative of the 2nd Congressional District, State of Washington

Mr. John Wolfe, CEO, The Northwest Seaport Alliance and CEO of the Port of Tacoma

9:20 AM Session 1 (Research Focus: PacTrans Showcase)

Mike Lowry, Moderator, Associate Professor, Civil Engineering, University of Idaho

Prof. Michael J. Olsen, Associate Professor of Geomatics, Civil & Construction Engineering, Oregon State University

Prof. Xuegang (Jeff) Ban, Associate Professor, Transportation Engineering, University of Washington

Prof. Axel Krings, PhD, Professor of Computer Science, University of Idaho

10:20 AM Break
10:40 AM Session 2 (Technology Transfer)

Nathan Belz, Moderator, Assistant Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Aaron Antrim, Founding Principal, President and Lead Developer, Trillium Solutions, Inc.

Elizabeth Sall, Founder and President, Urban Labs

Ted Trepanier, Executive Director, Public Sector, INRIX

11:40 PM Lunch
1:00 PM Session 3 (Workforce Development)

Haizhong Wang, Moderator, Assistant Professor, Civil & Construction Engineering, Oregon State University

Paul Mather, Administrator, Highway Division, Oregon Department of Transportation

Patrick Lynch, Principal, Transpo Group

Todd Kelsay, General Manager, Lyft, Seattle

2:00 PM Poster Session Elevator Pitches
2:15 PM Break | Poster Session
3:15 PM Session 4 (Research: Listening Session)

Eric Jessup, Moderator, Research Associate Professor, School of  Economic Sciences, Washington State University

Chris Johnson, Modeling Division Manager, Oregon Metro

Jesse Gastelle, Economist, Transportation Service, Agricultural Marketing Services,
Transportation & Marketing Program, US Department of Agriculture

Angela Konert, VP for Government & External Affairs, BMW California

4:15 PM Closing Remarks

Don MacKenzie, Planning Committee Chair, Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering, UW

4:20 PM Social Hour, Networking, Debate
5:30 PM End of Conference